Security Vetting: Working in Government

There are four levels of government security clearance that can be undertaken. These vary from job to job but will ultimately be necessary for those employed in job roles where sensitive information is to hand daily. The following blog will cover what these types of checks are, the requirements for each one and what they entail.

Baseline Personnel Security Standard (BPSS) and Enhanced Baseline Standard (EBS)

Both of these checks, while not legally required, are considered to be good recruitment and employment practice. They help to ensure someone is suitable to work in their role and gives employers an overview of the individual.

These checks are not considered formal security checks as they are only entry-level. This means that not everybody who is employed by someone has to have one of these undertaken. However, it is essential to note that anybody employed within a government office must have a BPSS check before taking up their posts.

Counter Terrorist Check (CTC)

Counter terrorist checks are carried out on individuals employed in roles where sensitive information may be compromised. These apply to those believed to have connections to or be vulnerable to pressure from terrorist organisations. For this reason, they understandably take a little bit longer to complete but give employers greater peace of mind.

They usually take around six months to complete and are valid for three years. To gain CTC clearance, the individual may be required to attend an interview with the body conducting the checks and will usually need to have been a UK resident for a minimum of 3 years.

Security Clearance (SC)

Much like a CTC, those undertaking a security clearance must have been a UK resident for a minimum of 5 years. 

Employed government contractors will need to have these renewed every five years; However, permanent employees who require substantial access to private and occasionally top secret assets and information are only required to renew these every ten years.

A security clearance is the most common type of check. It is carried out before an employee begins working for a new company and will reveal any previous or ongoing cautions and convictions.

Developed Vetting

A developed vetting check requirement will vary from job role to job role and is usually only necessary for people working in the intelligence or security agencies who have substantial unsupervised access to top secret assets.

The process is stringent and is several stages long. During a check, the body carrying out the check will look into aspects of an individual’s past, personal and work life as well as their educational and employment history

Those who apply must have been a UK resident for a minimum of 10 years. These checks must be reviewed every 7 years. However, the employer has the discretion to review a clearance at any time up to that point.

Why Government Clearance is Necessary

Depending on which job role you will be employed in, the need for a BPSS will vary. Those with intricate roles with access to a multitude of information will require a more thorough check. 

Some may need no check at all, but it is best to begin with a Baseline Personnel Security Standard check to rule out any possibilities that an individual would be unsuitable for certain positions down the line.

The clearance check will ensure the person is safe to be working in positions where they may have access to sensitive information or data, or be put in a government role with serious responsibilities.

Enquire for Your BPSS Check

Eurocom C I combine industry experience with cutting-edge technology to bring our clients the best in applicant checking.

In order to find out more information about BPSS and how to apply for one, please visit our BPSS checks page or contact us for more information.